The Beyond is an Ambient Electronic Group started in 1986,
as a side project to Sudden Afternoon ( an indie rock band)

The first line up was

Rob Warner: Synthesizers,Piano.
Matt Russell: Bass,Piano,Synth,mixing.
Nick Ralph: Piano and production.

The first Beyond album was recorded in the summer of 1986,
At the home of Rob’s wife Abi, over a 5 day period.

All Tracks were performed live direct to a Sony digital recorder.
The Equipment used on ‘Episcence’ was fairly basic

  • Ensoniq Mirage
  • Prophet 5
  • Korg Poly 800
  • Roland SH-101
  • Roland SH-5
  • Yamaha DX-5
  • Yamaha REV 7
  • Old Baby Grand Piano

Rob would compose during the day, and in the evenings,
Matt and Nick would add to and help perform each piece.
These sessions were all nighters and often ended
with a game of Croquet on the lawn at dawn.

The LP ‘Episcene’ was released by Midnight Music/Rough Trade in 1987.
The album had some success and Demo recordings for a 2nd Album were made.
Unfortunately the Record label went bust, and Rob moved to the highlands of Scotland.

In The Tranquility of the Scottish Highlands,
Rob recorded some more Beyond tracks in his new studio.

In 2000 Rob released the first of five cd’s on his own HMC label.
( these Cd’s are in the process of being Remastered.)

In 2009 Rob invited old friend Uwe D’Rose to join
The Beyond with this line up recording the Album
‘Exploring Imagined Spaces’.

In 2011 Rob released an EP ‘Alignment’.

This was given away free

In late 2012,  Rob released a new Beyond album,
‘Absolute Zero’

In 2013 Rob released the latest Beyond album
‘Holy Mountain’

Current Line up

Rob Warner: Synthesizers, Piano, mixing and production